Why Trauma-Informed First Aid?

Yesterday I visited the place where an 18-year-old died in a tragic car crash, for the first time since it happened. I was the second person on scene on the day of the crash. Things are different now as to how I remember them; sun in the sky, birds chirping, plants growing. It would have been a beautiful place were it not for the fragments of memory of a different time breaking through.

I remember trying to return to my role as a British Red Cross First Aid Trainer following sleepless nights. The first time I attempted to run a First Aid course after the accident, my colleague had to take over from me as I couldn’t get through ‘DR ABC’. I took a few weeks off delivering First Aid training, taking the opportunity to train in ‘Supporting Yourself and Others (the Red Cross CALMER approach)’ and ‘Courageous Conversations’ with the British Red Cross.

The British Red Cross CALMER Approach to Crisis; Consider, Acknowledge, Listen, Manage, Enable, Resource

I returned to work as a First Aid trainer for a couple of months, but each day sunk deeper into depression, until it got to the point where my students were concerned about my wellbeing.

I could tick off almost every symptom on the PTSD coach app, for example ‘being reminded of trauma’ and ‘feeling worried/anxious’. Unfortunately the British Red Cross were unable to reassign me a new role within the organisation, however did support me to finish my L3 Qualification in Education and Training before I moved on in a different direction.

Prior to the accident, I had really enjoyed my role as a First Aid Trainer. I found meaning in facilitating learning about how to help someone in need and received great feedback from customers who thought I had a very relaxed, natural manner when teaching. I developed a ‘Mental Health Hygiene’ exercise for First Aiders which proved to be an excellent conversation starter for sharing stories of recovery and resilience as a First Aider.

I believe First Aid skills are something that everyone should have as you never know when you might need them.

Whilst I taught First Aid to hundreds of people, a few students stood out. One student lost a partner following a heart attack and had to leave the room during a training video, as it reminded them of this traumatic event. Another student’s career ended with a seizure; they found the topic extremely challenging but took comfort in sharing their experiences with the group towards the end of the session. Many others have shared stories of frightening First Aid encounters in small group activities, some with happy endings, others not. Sharing experiences has helped others learn as well as learners to process events.

Whilst I routinely provided students the opportunity to disclose their ‘First Aid fears’ at the start of a training session, few students felt they were able to raise them, confidentially or otherwise. Whilst confronting your deepest darkest trauma in a classroom full of strangers is a very courageous thing to do, I think there are many people not putting their name forwards for First Aid Training due to past psychological trauma.

  • Will the training remind me of the traumatic experience?
  • How will I respond if I get triggered?
  • How will the other students perceive me?
  • What support is available to me if I can’t cope?

Sound at all familiar?

Yet avoiding First Aid Training doesn’t mean you will necessarily also avoid situations where that training might be needed. It’s easy to assume that others will step in to help. But will they? Will you?

The Bystander Effect [Image: iconeo design, etsy]

Even if you’re not quite sure what to do in a situation, by overcoming barriers and stepping forward you’ll be able to work out how best to help someone, even if it’s just calling for an ambulance.

You’ll also encourage others to step forward – and one of them might know first aid.

British Red Cross – The Bystander Effect

I am in the process of designing Trauma-Informed First Aid courses to give you the tools and support that you need to step forwards in an emergency. We will explore the ‘Fight, Flight, Freeze > First Aid’ response, de-stressor (e.g. progressive muscle relaxation) and pranayama (breathing exercises) for managing triggers, and how to debrief and take care of yourself following an emergency. You will also get the chance to meet Sunny and Hugo, certified Therapy Dogs.

Sunny (winning the ‘dog the judge would most like to take home’ award)
Hugo, newly qualified therapy puppy(ish) bundle of fun
  • Will the training remind me of the traumatic experience?

This course will be sensitive to the fact that students may be reminded of traumatic experiences. I am researching trauma informed methods and will be guided by personal experience and observation of participants. The use of training videos will be limited, and there will be pre-topic signposting/trigger warnings.

  • How will I respond if I get triggered?

Pre-course discussions will be available to discuss concerns and decide whether you are ready for this training at this time. Support will be available during the session with integrated destressor activities and space available to step out if neccessary. Everyone will understand.

  • How will the other students perceive me?

The other students in this group will have understanding and empathy of your situation. They may even be able to provide you with peer support. You can share as much or as little as you like with the group.

  • What support is available to me if I can’t cope?

Hugo has just passed his test to become a PAT therapy dog and is excited to provide some cuddles. Sunny is a very experienced loving and gentle therapy dog who has volunteered for the NHS, care homes and Barnardos. Im also hoping to have some empathetic human volunteers on standby.

The first course I plan to run is on Unresponsive Casualties, but I do hope to develop other courses and collaborate with existing training providers to amplify impact.

Volunteers/Help Needed:

  • If you have experience in mental health services e.g. support work, psychology, counselling and feel you could contribute to the ‘Fight, Flight, First Aid’ session, please let me know!
  • If you are a creative individual and could contribute a de-stressor activity during/following the course (e.g. yoga, progressive muscle relaxation, aromatherapy) that would also be appreciated. Thanks @Osk for volunteering a yoga session 🙂
  • I am looking for a venue (preferably free) in Cardiff.
  • I am seeking to borrow some First Aid Training Materials (Annie’s, AEDs, Flipchart/Pens), PowerPoint Slides, Projector), Prompt Cards/exercises e.g. Chain of Survival).
  • Donations made for the event on EventBrite will be reinvested into the project

Resources:

British Red Cross CALMER Framework

Consider: potential risk to yourself and other people’s unique needs and wishes
Acknowledge: that people come from a range of backgrounds and experiences; respect diversity
Listen: listen with empathy
Manage: the situation by promoting dignity, repsect and privacy
Enable: decision making by providing relevant information and facilitating choice
Resource: by signposting to further support and remember your own needs

PTSD coach app

PTSD Coach can reduce PTSD symptoms, especially when used as part of therapy. The app may also help with symptoms of depression. PTSD Coach is not meant to replace professional care.

Contact: traumainformedfirstaid@gmail.com

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started